Anniversary Shenanigans: Author Visit + Giveaway - E.J. Russell


Welcome author E.J. Russell who's joining in the fun with an excerpt from her upcoming novel, Vampire With Benefits (Supernatural Selection, #2)! She's also offering an ebook giveaway too!

Happy blogoversary, Boy Meets Boy Reviews! I’m so pleased to be here to help you celebrate! My contribution to the anniversary bash is an ebook copy of The Druid Next Door, the second in my Fae Out of Water trilogy (part of my Mythmatched universe).
My next Mythmatched book, Vampire With Benefits (second in the Supernatural Selection trilogy), releases on November 26th. A couple of the characters from Druid make significant guest appearances in Vampire. In fact, the excerpt below takes place just before Rusty, an inactive beaver shifter, and vampire Casimir, his temporary husband, suddenly find it necessary to consult a druid—stat.



Rusty stormed out of the club, but he must have gotten turned around in the ballroom, because he wasn’t in the parking lot. He was at the top of a wide swath of manicured lawn that sloped down to the street. He let his momentum carry him down, even though it was the wrong direction to reclaim his truck and get the hell out of Portland.
He needed to be back in Eugene tomorrow anyway, to get started on the lake house repairs, and the last thing he wanted right now was to be anywhere near Casimir Moreau. Would it have killed him to have given Rusty a clue about what they’d be facing? Gaia, if Rusty wanted to be sneered at and shunned, he could have just stayed home.
“Rusty.” Casimir’s voice nearly got lost in the windy dark. “Wait up.”
“Why?” Rusty called, not stopping. “So you can maybe stick an apple in my mouth and lay me out on the buffet table? Oh wait. There isn’t a buffet because none of you eat. Maybe you want me to tap dance. Do a magic trick. Tell a few jokes so your high-toned friends have something to really laugh at, or so when they do laugh I can pretend they’re doing it because of my wit and charm and not at my expense.”
Casimir was suddenly right next to him. “That’s not what this was about.”
“No? Could have fooled me.” He smacked his forehead. “Oh wait. You did fool me. Or rather made a fool of me. I mean, I know we only got married for the shock value.” I just didn’t think I’d be the one getting shocked. “But what exactly were you trying to prove in there?”
Casimir peered up at him, meeting his gaze squarely, his eyes gone muddy yellow in the light of the retro streetlamps. “That I have a right to manage my own life. That the council has no right to deprive me of choice.”
“Oh, so that Henryk guy was right. I was just a way for you to thumb your nose at the council. Make everyone gasp in horror at just how far you’d go to tell them to fuck themselves.”
Casimir had the grace to look ashamed, his gaze falling to the middle of Rusty’s chest. “I’m sorry. I admit that I was thinking more about the effect you’d have on them than the effect they’d have on you.”
Effect. That was a good word for it. Like a flashback to every party he’d ever been to from puberty on, once it was clear he’d never shift. “You could have at least warned me that it was a black tie event.”
“White tie, actually.”
Not the fucking point!” Rusty swung at a No Parking sign at the curb, connecting with a satisfying clang, but his hand caught on a jagged edge and pain lanced through his palm. “Shit.”
“Are you okay? Let me see.”
“It’s all right.” Rusty dug in his pocket with his other hand. Double shit. No handkerchief. He always carried a handkerchief, but he’d been in such a hurry to change into his new clothes. Pretty funny that I thought I looked so damn good. Compared to the vampires in their red carpet–worthy duds, Rusty looked like the accountant brought in to count the votes at the Oscars. No, they wear tuxes too. The accountant’s second-tier mailroom clerk, then. No help for it. Unless he wanted to keep bleeding all the way back to Eugene, he needed to sacrifice his new shirt. He tugged his shirt tail out.
Casimir gripped his forearm. “What are you doing?”
“I need to stanch the blood, and I don’t have a handkerchief. Shirt will have to do.”
“Will you please let me see it? Stop being so stubborn.”
Rusty heaved an irritated sigh. “Fine.” He held up his palm, and blood trickled down his wrist onto his cuff. “There. Happy now?”
“You are such a—” Casimir grabbed Rusty’s wrist, and before Rusty could figure out what was happening, he licked from Rusty’s wrist to palm, finishing with a little extra suck against the cut.
Rusty jerked his hand back, but he couldn’t break Casimir’s iron grip. Talk about effects. Casimir’s tongue on his skin, the suction as he pulled against Rusty’s wound . . . “What the fuck?”
“Vampire saliva has a coagulant. I—” His eyelids fluttered and his knees started to buckle.
Rusty grabbed Casimir’s shoulders, steadying him. “Shit, Casimir. I’m a shifter. My blood is poison to you.”
Casimir wiped his mouth with the back of his hand. “I . . . forgot.”
“You forgot? What’s wrong with you? Wasn’t your death wish satisfied by actually, you know, dying?”
“Sorry. But you don’t smell like a shifter.” Casimir blinked at him in the amber glow of the streetlight. “I—” He licked his lips. “Is poison supposed to taste this good?” He wobbled, and Rusty caught him around the waist as his knees gave out.
“When I said I wanted to kill you, I didn’t really mean it. What happens? When a vampire bites a shifter?”
“I don’t know.”
“Well, find out. If we have to pump your stomach, or force a bezoar down your throat, or whatever, it would be good to know, don’t you think?” Was there a vampire equivalent of an EpiPen? “Fuck. This is not what I need tonight.” He glanced around wildly, searching for help, but the damn street was deserted. He wrestled his phone out of his pocket while supporting Casimir against his hip. Could the SMTs get here in time? How long would it take for Casimir to die? Or die again.

(Buy links for other sites aren’t usually up until much closer to release.)

About E.J.
E.J. Russell—grace, mother of three, recovering actor—holds a BA and an MFA in theater, so naturally she’s spent the last three decades as a financial manager, database designer, and business intelligence consultant (as one does). She’s recently abandoned data wrangling, however, and spends her days wrestling words. Her paranormal romantic comedy, The Druid Next Door, was a 2018 RITA® finalist and the winner of the 2017 Rainbow Award for Best Gay Fantasy Romance.
E.J. is married to Curmudgeonly Husband, a man who cares even less about sports than she does. Luckily, CH loves to cook, or all three of their children (Lovely Daughter and Darling Sons A and B) would have survived on nothing but Cheerios, beef jerky, and satsuma mandarins (the extent of E.J.’s culinary skill set).
E.J. lives in rural Oregon, enjoys visits from her wonderful adult children, and indulges in good books, red wine, and the occasional hyperbole.

Connect with E.J.
Facebook group (Reality Optional): https://www.facebook.com/groups/reality.optional
Website: ejrussell.com
Facebook author page: facebook.com/E.J.Russell.author
 Twitter at twitter.com/ej_russell

Our thanks to E.J. for helping us celebrate 5 years of unicorning!


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Enter to win an ecopy of The Druid Next Door. The giveaway is open until 12:00AM (EST) 11/25/18. Shortly thereafter, we will contact a winner!

Please respond to the winning notification within 48 hours or we will choose another winner. Good luck!

Don't miss entering in our month long unicorn giveaway HERE! It ends 12/1/18!

Anniversary Shenanigans: Author Visit + Giveaway - Antonia Aquilante


Antonia Aquilante joins the shenanigans today with a fantasy fic that's bound to make you swoon with delight!

Moonlight on Wings
by
Antonia Aquilante


He was beautiful. He seemed etched out of moonlight and darkness as he stood at the open window. The silvery light played over the planes of his bare chest, the finely drawn lines of his profile. The shadow warred with the light, leaving his normally bright copper hair shades darker. His wings flared behind him, deceptively delicate like gossamer or glass but strong enough to lift him in flight, to carry him high in the air.
The contrast was the same for him as a whole. His beauty could stop anyone dead—it had utterly dazzled Crispin—but it was his strength that had Crispin tumbling into love. His strength, and his utter lack of awe at Crispin’s title.
Crispin watched from the bed as Tarquin stretched, seemed poised to move. “Are you going out?” he whispered.
He worried when Tarquin went flying alone at night, but Crispin wouldn’t hamper his freedom any more than he was forced to. Tarquin hadn’t been born to the restrictions of life in a royal palace; he’d only fallen in love with a prince. And every day, Crispin could only be grateful he had and had chosen Crispin.
Tarquin turned to him, his lovely features thrown into shadow in the moonlit room. “I thought you were asleep.”
“I was, but then you weren’t here.”
Something in Tarquin’s posture softened. He left the window and came to the bed, stripping off his thin pants, the only thing he wore, as he did. “I was going to, but I think I’ll stay here.”
Relief washed through Crispin, followed immediately by guilt. “I don’t want to hold you here. You should go if you want to.”
“You do.” There was a smile in Tarquin’s voice. “But I know you won’t. I said I changed my mind anyway.”
He lifted the light cover and slid beneath it, pressing himself to Crispin, his skin cool against Crispin’s. “I assume you don’t have any objections?”
“To having you with me? Never.” His heart swelled with love at the knowledge that this man had chosen to stay with him, not only tonight but for the rest of their lives.
“Good.” Tarquin brushed his lips over Crispin’s. Once, twice, before Crispin growled and pulled him in for a deeper kiss. Tarquin’s delighted laugh turned into a moan, and Crispin set about doing his best to make Tarquin fly in an entirely different manner.




We unicorns thank Antonia for helping us celebrate 5 years of quirky blogging and helping to make our anniversary special.

About the Author

Antonia Aquilante has been making up stories for as long as she can remember, and at the age of twelve, decided she would be a writer when she grew up. After many years and a few career detours, she has returned to that original plan. Her stories have changed over the years, but one thing has remained consistent—they all end in happily ever after.

She has a fondness for travel (and a long list of places she wants to visit and revisit), taking photos, family history, fabulous shoes, baking treats (which she shares with friends and family), and of course, reading. She usually has at least two books started at once and never goes anywhere without her Kindle. Though she is a convert to e-books, she still loves paper books the best, and there are a couple thousand of them residing in her home with her.

Born and raised in New Jersey, Antonia is living there again after years in Washington, DC and North Carolina for school and work. She enjoys being back in the Garden State but admits to being tempted every so often to run away from home and live in Italy.



Thanks to Dreamspinner Press, you could win your choice of audiobook from the publisher!

a Rafflecopter giveaway


The giveaway is open until 12:00AM (EST) 11/25/18. Shortly thereafter, we will contact a winner!

Please respond to the winning notification within 48 hours or we will choose another winner. Good luck!

Don't miss entering in our month long unicorn giveaway HERE! It ends 12/1/18!

Giveaway + Audio Release Blitz: Leaning Into A Wish (Leaning Into #5) by Lane Hayes


Celebrate the release of Leaning Into A Wish with author Lane Hayes and Indigo Promotions. Learn more about this holiday romance and enter in the giveaway to win a $20 Amazon gift card! Good luck!


Title: Leaning Into a Wish
Series: Leaning Into #5
Author: Lane Hayes
Publisher: Lane Hayes
Original Release Date: November 22, 2017
Heat Level: 4 - Lots of Sex
Pairing: Male/Male
Length: 3 Hours, 29 Minutes
Genre: Romance, Holiday, Bisexual, Humor, Winery, Working Relationship

Add to Goodreads

Synopsis

Ryan Haskell loves everything about the wine business. He's fortunate to work
at one of the most prestigious wineries in Napa Valley doing something he
enjoys with the people who are like family to him. But he could do without the
good-natured intern slash former jock with the wicked grin who always seems to
be in the way. Ryan isn’t sure why the new guy is under his skin when everyone
else loves him. Thankfully he'll be gone after the holidays.

Danny Meyers can’t believe his luck when he lands an internship at Conrad
Winery. It’s the perfect temporary gig to wrap up his graduate studies. He's
left his dreams of tennis stardom on the court to focus on a new career and a
new life. However, he didn't count on the spark of attraction he feels for his
prickly co-worker. When their tentative friendship blossoms into something more
than either man counted on, they may have to change direction and lean into a
holiday wish.


Excerpt


A vacuum-like static rang in my ears. It
wasn’t until Danny nudged my arm that the typical raucous bar noises filtered
through again. And when he scooted his barstool back a foot or two and raised
his hand to flag down a server, everything seemed to return to normal. Sort of.

“Gin and tonic for my friend and I’ll
have another martini, please. Thanks.” Danny tipped back the last of his drink
then handed it over before twisting to face me. “So other than being out
twenty-five bucks and possibly having an awkward conversation at work on
Monday, that didn’t go so bad.”

“I—I don’t get it. What just happened?”

“We agreed to let Geordie win the bet,
remember?”

“Sure, but how did I get stuck here with
you?”

Danny snorted. “We’ve already
established that you like me. Stop being an uptight fuddy-duddy.”

“A fuddy—? You’re…” I gritted my teeth
and tried to think of a stinging insult to fit the situation. “Annoying.”

Lame. And the “That’s the best you’ve
got?” twinkle in Danny’s eye told me he agreed with me. I was about to let him
have it when the waiter stopped to deliver our drinks. When we were alone
again, I leaned into him and kicked his shin for good measure.

“Ow. Relax, Ry. I still want to kiss
you, you know.” He popped the speared olive from his martini into his mouth.
“With tongue.”

“You’re reading way too much into a
stick of spearmint gum, honey. Don’t flatter yourself. It was a joke,” I huffed
derisively.

“It doesn’t have to be.”

“Are you fucking nuts? I’m not kissing
you,” I announced primly.

“You want to though. Admit it,” he
teased.

I blew out an exaggerated breath, sucked
down half my cocktail, and slid off my barstool. “I’m outta here. See you Monday.”

Danny grabbed my belt loop and yanked me
to his side. “You didn’t let me finish. I was about to say…”

“Yes?” I prompted with a rolling hand
gesture.

“I want it too.”

We stared at each other for a heated
moment. I had no clue what he was thinking, but it seemed weird to ask for
clarification. When the growing tension went on a beat too long, I wanted out.
“See ya, Danny boy.”

I pushed my way through the crowd and
gulped for air when I finally reached the sidewalk. I didn’t dare stop to enjoy
the refreshing autumn breeze. If I wanted to avoid any further confrontation, I
had to boogie. Danny was the type of guy who liked having the last word, and
that wasn’t happening on my watch. I fished my keys from my pocket and
power-walked toward the parking lot behind the bar.

“Ryan!”

I ignored him and picked up my pace. I
spotted my car and clicked my fob to unlock the door. Danny called my name
again. I could tell from the sound of his footsteps behind me that he was
closing in quickly. I had to hurry or—

Too late. A hand on my elbow yanked me
sideways.

“What the fuck is your problem?” I
fumed, pushing his chest to no avail.

He moved into my space until his nose
was less than an inch from mine. He was too big and imposing, and the look in
his eyes was straight-up dangerous.

My dick twitched in my jeans. Of course
it did. I had a bad habit of coveting what I couldn’t have and getting turned
on by the chase. My past was littered with embarrassing short-term affairs or
crushes on guys like Wes and Finn. Men I admired but never had a real shot
with. I didn’t want to add Danny to that list because against my better
judgment…I liked him. Really liked him.

Purchase at Audible

Meet the Author

Lane Hayes is grateful to finally be doing what she loves best. Writing full-time! It’s no secret Lane loves a good romance novel. An avid reader from an early age, she has always been drawn to well-told love story with beautifully written characters. These days she prefers the leading roles to both be men. Lane discovered the M/M genre a few years ago and was instantly hooked. Her debut novel was a 2013 Rainbow Award finalist and subsequent books have received Honorable Mentions, and were winners in the 2016 Rainbow Awards. She loves red wine, chocolate and travel (in no particular order). Lane lives in Southern California with her amazing husband in a newly empty nest.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

Meet the Narrator

 

Nick is an award winning narrator with a fan following for his work in fiction, specifically in the romance genre. His performances in two of Amy Lane's books, Beneath the Stain and Christmas Kitsch, made him the recipient of Sinfully M/M Book Review's Narrator of the Year - 2015. When he's not in the booth, Nick enjoys spending time with his wife, Jessica, and kids, (aka their beagle Frank and cat Stella), drumming in his cover band, exploring rural back roads with his wife on his motorcycle, or being enthralled in a tabletop role playing game with his friends.

Facebook | Twitter

 

Giveaway



a Rafflecopter giveaway





Blog Button 2

Anniversary Shenanigans: Rhys Ford Giveaway!



Friend of the clubhouse and all around fantastic person (ask anyone!) Rhys Ford is offering up a generous giveaway to sweeten the Unicorniversary shenanigans! 

She also released a new Murder and Mayhem story just yesterday, "Cops and Comix"! Happy (belated) Release Day, Rhys!


It’s all fun and games until someone leaves a dead body on the floor.

Life for comic book store owner Alex Martin usually runs to the mundane. Sure, he has a regular influx of geeks and freaks, but for the most part, it’s a familiar weird. That all changes when he opens up Planet X Comics one morning and finds a corpse in the middle of his shop.

When Detective James Castillo is called in to investigate, Alex is torn between wanting to climb the man like a tree and giving him a wide berth. Luckily for Alex, the handsome detective is just as interested in him—as a suspect in the murder.







About Rhys Ford

Rhys Ford is an award-winning author with several long-running LGBT+ mystery, thriller, paranormal, and urban fantasy series and was a 2016 LAMBDA finalist with her novel, Murder and Mayhem. She is published by Dreamspinner Press and DSP Publications.

She’s also quite skeptical about bios without a dash of something personal and really, who doesn’t mention their cats, dog and cars in a bio? She shares the house with Yoshi, a grumpy tuxedo cat and Harley, an off-kilter flower-faced grey and white cat-dog , as well as a ginger cairn terrorist named Gus. Rhys is also enslaved to the upkeep a 1979 Pontiac Firebird and enjoys murdering make-believe people

Rhys’ Blog: www.rhysford.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/rhys.ford.author
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Rhys_Ford
Rhys Ford’s books can found at Dreamspinner Press (http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com), DSP Publications (https://www.dsppublications.com/) and all major online book stores.


Rhys is graciously giving away a $25 USD gift certificate to one person. Could it be you?

a Rafflecopter giveaway

The giveaway is open until 12:00AM (EST) 11/24/18. Shortly thereafter, we will contact a winner!

Please respond to the winning notification within 48 hours or we will choose another winner. Good luck!

Don't miss entering in our month long unicorn giveaway HERE! It ends 12/1/18!

Audiobook Review: Lover (Survivor #2) by T.M. Smith

Life has not always been kind to Shannon Dupree. On the outside he’s carefree and fun loving, but when it comes to his past he’s evasive and secretive. Running away from emotionally bereft parents at just fifteen, Shannon escapes life with them but steps into the waiting arms of the devil.

Rory Landers is a rising star at the Bureau. His personal life, however, is nothing to write home about. He hopes to take his limited relationship with Frank Moore to the next level when they finally solve the Langford murder case, but that doesn’t turn out as planned. On the plus side, he meets free-spirited college senior Shannon Dupree.

Rand Davis finds himself fortysomething and single when his partner of more than a decade is unfaithful. Taking over the Cold Case Squad frees up some of his time, and Rand welcomes newfound friendships within the Langford-Moore family circle. He thinks relationships are not in the cards for him until he meets an agent with an attitude and a vivacious blond that make him want so much more.

Past, present, pain, and suffering collide, ushering in the possibility of a life and love worth fighting for. Although their personalities couldn't be more different, their three hearts beat the same. Shannon, Rory, and Rand learn the definition of love, commitment, and strength and if they allow themselves, the trio will find all that and more—in each other.

Narrator: Nick J. Russo
Listening Length: 6 hrs and 40 mins



Reviewer: Shee Reader


Rand is a big blustery type and his co-worker Rory is a spirited and strong man Rand doesn’t want to be attracted to. Rory is in a relationship with a wonderful man who is scared and scarred by his past abusive relationship. Can they find a way to make things work long-term with his abuser on the loose? Rand wants to take care of Shannon whilst simultaneously trying to stop his vivid and erotic fantasies that include a man in a relationship with another!

I absolutely adored the first book in this series, and could not wait to get started on this book. It is a gloriously complex, yet lowish angst love story of a couple finding their missing piece in the shape of a third. Beautifully written and engaging, I was drawn in from the outset. The three men are all likeable in their own way and a lovely match up.

The previous couple from book one feature throughout this story and it is so good to see them and how they are part of the tale as it unfolds.

The narration was delightful, and Russo gave the characterisation a lovely depth. The writing is often witty and funny and the narration enhances that in such a charming way.

I highly recommend this series, and I personally, eagerly await the next book!

I was given a copy of the audiobook in exchange for an honest review.





a Rafflecopter giveaway


Enter to win any backlist ebook from Dreamspinner Press! The giveaway is open until 12:00AM (EST) 11/24/18. Shortly thereafter, we will contact a winner!

Please respond to the winning notification within 48 hours or we will choose another winner. Good luck!

Don't miss entering in our month long unicorn giveaway HERE! It ends 12/1/18!

Anniversary Shenanigans: Author Visit + Giveaway - Lily Morton


Author Lily Morton is here today and she's got some fun tidbits about her Mixed Messages series. She's also offering a backlist ebook so be sure to enter below for your chance to win!


My name is Lily Morton and I write love stories with heat and humour. My Mixed Messages series features snarky men falling in love with a lot of laughs along the way. Here are some facts about the series that you might not know:

1. Rule Breaker had many different titles. They included Rational, Love and Other Memos and Dizzy.

2. The sarcastic work emails between Gabe and Dylan that people loved in Rule Breaker were very much written on a whim. I wrote them while watching Strictly Come Dancing and I still have a few spare ones lying around in a file somewhere.

3. Asa was originally meant to be American. It came as quite a surprise to find out while I was writing that he was from Yorkshire!

4. Billy’s chat with Jude at the front door in the beginning of Deal Maker was actually based on my youngest son. He was so chatty that he’d talk to anyone and despite being told not to, he kept opening the door to doorstep cold callers just so he’d have a new person to talk to.

5. Ivo in Risk Taker was originally going to be a lot older than Henry.

6. In Risk Taker, Ivo was Henry’s best friend of nearly twenty years. However, in my original plan he was going to be a fashion photographer and a stranger who Henry meets during a hook up.

How fun was that? We unicorns thank Lily for helping us celebrate our fifth anniversary.

Don't miss out on Lily's next project, the Finding Home series. Oz comes out November 20th!

What happens when temporary becomes forever?

Oz Gallagher does not do relationships well. Bored and jobless after another disastrous hook up, he decides to leave London for a temporary job in the wilds of Cornwall. Surely managing a stately home on a country estate will be easier than navigating the detritus of his relationships at home. Six months there will alleviate a bit of his wanderlust and then he can come back to London as footloose and fancy-free as the day he left it.

However, when he gets there he finds a house in danger of crumbling to the ground and a man who is completely unlike anyone he’s ever met. An earl belonging to a family whose roots go back hundreds of years, Silas is the living embodiment of duty and sacrifice. Two things that Oz has never wanted. He's also warm and funny and he draws Oz to him like a magnet.

Oz banks on the fact that they're from two very different worlds to stop himself falling for Silas. But what will he do when he realises that these differences are actually part of the pull to one another? Will falling in love be enough to make him stop moving at last and realise that he's finally home?

From bestselling author, Lily Morton comes a romantic comedy about two very different men and one very dilapidated house.

This is the first book in the Finding Home series but it can be read as a standalone.

About the author

Lily writes contemporary romance novels, and specialises in hot love stories with a good dose of humour.

Lily lives in sunny England with her husband and two children, all of whom claim that they haven’t had a proper conversation with her since she bought her first Kindle.

She has spent her life with her head full of daydreams and decided one day to just sit down and start writing about them. In the process she discovered that she actually loved writing, because how else could she get to spend her time with hot, funny men!

She loves chocolate and Baileys and the best of all creations – chocolate Baileys! Her lifetime’s ambition is to have a bath in peace without being shouted by one of her family.

Facebook Author
Website


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Enter to win a backlist ebook from the author. The giveaway is open until 12:00AM (EST) 11/23/18. Shortly thereafter, we will contact a winner!

Please respond to the winning notification within 48 hours or we will choose another winner. Good luck!

Don't miss entering in our month long unicorn giveaway HERE! It ends 12/1/18!

Review: Cops and Comix (Murder and Mayhem 0.5) by Rhys Ford

Second Edition

It’s all fun and games until someone leaves a dead body on the floor.

Life for comic book store owner Alex Martin usually runs to the mundane. Sure, he has a regular influx of geeks and freaks, but for the most part, it’s a familiar weird. That all changes when he opens up Planet X Comics one morning and finds a corpse in the middle of his shop.

When Detective James Castillo is called in to investigate, Alex is torn between wanting to climb the man like a tree and giving him a wide berth. Luckily for Alex, the handsome detective is just as interested in him—as a suspect in the murder.

Previously published in Grand Adventures by Dreamspinner Press, March 2014.



I thoroughly enjoyed both ‘Murder and Mayhem’ and ‘Tramps and Thieves’, so I was ready to give ‘Cops and Comix’ all the love.

Unfortunately, this short read fell below my expectations.

In this prequel to the Murder and Mayhem series, we’re shown how Rook’s cousin, Alex Martin, got together with his homicide detective, James Castillo.

The lovebirds were secondary characters in Rook and Dante’s story, so I was looking forward to finding out how they became an item.

Perhaps unsurprisingly, Alex and James were thrown together like most of Rhys Ford’s couples - through a case of murder and being at the wrong place at the wrong time.

In this case, Alex comes in to work one morning to find a decomposing body in the middle of his comic book store. James is the detective assigned to the case.

description

From the moment they met, sparks fly. Neither man would say no to getting in the other’s pants. And James, brash as he is, makes no secret about his interest.

So it was great set up. Except for one thing - Rhys Ford tried to fit her usual formula into a very limited number of pages. And as someone who loves Rhys’ formula murder and grand romance, ‘Cops and Comix’ just felt rushed and unfinished.

I barely got a feel for either the romance or the murder mystery before it was over.

I know I would have loved James and Alex’s story if it was a full-length read, but there was just too much happening here for such a short story.


A review copy was provided.





a Rafflecopter giveaway

Enter in a SURPRISE giveaway of any backlist ebook from Dreamspinner Press! The giveaway is open until 12:00AM (EST) 11/23/18. Shortly thereafter, we will contact a winner!

Please respond to the winning notification within 48 hours or we will choose another winner. Good luck!

Don't miss entering in our month long unicorn giveaway HERE! It ends 12/1/18!

Giveaway + Release Blitz: Walking In a Winter Wonderland by Claire Castle


Welcome author Claire Castle and Signal Boost Promotions who are celebrating the release of the author's holiday story, Walking in a Winter Wonderland! Join in the celebration by entering the giveaway of a $10 Amazon gift card. Good luck!




Buy Links: Amazon US | Amazon UK - Exclusive to Amazon and Available to Borrow in Kindle Unlimited

Length: 34,000 words approx.

Cover Design: Claire Castle

Blurb

Colton Dawson is miserable this holiday season. Those he’d loved the most are no longer in his life. With one disappointment after another, how can he possibly get into the Christmas spirit? Maybe a change of scenery—a new place to put down roots—is just what he needs for a second chance to find some happiness.


Winterbourne Vale is only too happy to help his much-loved aunt and uncle run their café in Canada while on his short December break—even if it means leaving his home in the United Kingdom. After a defeated-looking Colton walks into the café, Winter is determined to lift his spirits.


Can Colton and Winter’s Christmas happiness continue long after the gifts are unwrapped and the decorations are stowed away?


Walking in a Winter Wonderland is holiday treat filled with special ornaments and glistening snow, hot tea and cold-weather kisses, along with some sexy shenanigans and plenty of holiday cheer. 



Claire Castle grew up surrounded by books. She has loved reading for her whole life. Her true love is romance and HEAs. When she’s not reading or writing, she can be found wearing comfortable leggings, drinking mocha and petting her west highland terrier. She loves collecting awesome mugs and paperbacks of her favorite stories.


Facebook

Email

Amazon

Twitter


a Rafflecopter giveaway



Hosted By Signal Boost Promotions